MINUTES of the GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MEETING of the ERIE COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY held in the office, 295 Main Street, Room 350, Buffalo, New York, on the 17th day of August 2023

PRESENT: Jerome D. Schad, Chair Peggy A. LaGree, Vice Chair Michele M. Iannello, Treasurer Terrence D. McCracken, Secretary to the Authority Joyce A. Tomaka, Chief Financial Officer Mark S. Carney, General Counsel Leonard F. Kowalski, Executive Engineer Sabrina A. Figler, Director of Water Quality Jennifer Hibit, Director of Human Resources Jessica R. Brown, Comptroller Lavonya C. Lester, Director of Administration Katherine A. Gillette, Associate Attorney Michael W. Wymer, Senior Production Engineer Michael J. Quinn, Senior Distribution Engineer David W. Aubertine, Director of Cybersecurity and Information Technology Matthew W. Barrett, Security Officer

ATTENDEES: Dave Fox, Raftelis

PLEDGE TO THE FLAG

I. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

The meeting was called to order at 9:30 a.m. A quorum was present with three Commissioners.

II. READING OF MINUTES

- **III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES**
- **IV. REPORTS**

V. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

A. Authorization for Approvals of One Time Delinquent Charge Reversal

Secretary McCracken discussed past memos with recommendations on changes to the Authorization for Approvals of One Time Delinquent Charge Reversal Policy and the need to officially amend the policy. Joyce Tomaka gave an overview and history of the process. Ms. Tomaka referenced the memo to the Board which recommended changes to the policy. Commissioner LaGree noted that she reviewed the documentation of the past year's charge reversals. Commissioner LaGree recommended amending the proposed policy to reflect that the Cash Manager or Comptroller and three members of the Executive Staff would approve any charge reversals amounts of \$1,001 and above. Chairman Schad agreed with the recommendation to amend.

Motion by Ms. LaGree to amend the Authorization for Approvals of One Time Delinquent Charge Reversal Policy to reflect that the Cash Manager or Comptroller and three members of the Executive Staff would approve any charge reversals amounts of \$501 - \$1000 and the Board of Commissioners approve amounts of \$1,001 and above, seconded by Ms. Iannello.

Chairman Schad calls for a vote on the motion to amend.

VOTE

Ayes: Three; Commrs. Schad, LaGree and Iannello Noes: None

On the motion as amended,

Motion by Ms. LaGree, seconded by Ms. Iannello and carried to recommend that the Board approve and amend the Authorization for Approvals of One Time Delinquent Charge Reversal Policy.

VOTE

Ayes: Three; Commrs. Schad, LaGree and Iannello Noes: None

VIII. - ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Ms. LaGree seconded by Ms. Iannello and carried that the meeting adjourn at 9:37 a.m.

DISCUSSION None

VOTE

Ayes: Three; Commrs. Schad, LaGree and Iannello Noes: None

//r

Terrence D. McCracken Secretary to the Authority

ALH