MINUTES of the **FINANCE COMMITTEE MEETING** of the **ERIE COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY** held in the office, 295 Main Street, Room 350, Buffalo, New York, on the 20^{th} day of October 2022.

PRESENT: Jerome D. Schad, Chair

Peggy A. LaGree, Vice Chair Michele M. Iannello, Treasurer

Terrence D. McCracken, Secretary to the Authority Karen A. Prendergast, Chief Financial Officer

Mark S. Carney, General Counsel

Russell J. Stoll, COO

Leonard F. Kowalski, Executive Engineer Jennifer Hibit, Director of Human Resources

Joyce A. Tomaka, Comptroller

Lavonya C. Lester, Director of Administration Katherine A. Gillette, Associate Attorney

David W. Aubertine, Director of Cybersecurity and Information Technology

Matthew W. Barrett, Security Officer

ATTENDEES:

PLEDGE TO THE FLAG

I. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

The meeting was called to order at 9:30 a.m. A quorum was present with three Commissioners.

- II. READING OF MINUTES
- III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES
- IV. REPORTS
- V. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

VI. NEW BUSINESS

A. Debt Management Policy

DISCUSSION

Karen Prendergast distributed a revised debt manage policy which was last revised in 2016 reflecting changes to continuing disclosure and arbitrage requirements. Subsequently, there have been changes in the Government Accounting Standards that have limited our ability to issue debt as needed for our capital plan. Ms. Prendergast asked the Authority's financial advisor to investigate what other municipalities and/or public authorities were doing. After doing so, it was recommended that the Authority change its debt limit to a debt to capitalization ratio of no more than 25%. This change gives the Authority substantially more capacity moving forward to issue debt as needed.

Motion by Ms. LaGree, seconded by Ms. Iannello and carried to recommend that the Board approve and amend the current Debt Management Policy.

DISCUSSION

None

VOTE

Ayes: Three; Commrs. Schad, LaGree and Iannello

Noes: None

VII. - ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Ms. LaGree seconded by Ms. Iannello and carried that the meeting adjourn at 9:33 a.m.

DISCUSSION

None

VOTE

Ayes: Three; Commrs. Schad, LaGree and Iannello

Noes: None

Terrence D. McCracken Secretary to the Authority

PG